Compass Crimes Series


East of Evil The Final Compass Crimes Suspense Series Book


A colossal fortune. A secret reaper. A young woman whose drive for due process makes her the target of dangerous people…

Nefi dreams of becoming an FBI agent. After exposing her parents’ heartless killer, the Harvard grad focuses on getting into a stellar criminal justice Master’s degree program. But her career goals take a back seat when she inherits a ten-million-dollar trust from her late parents… with a hefty chunk gone.

Seeking the help of a forensic accountant, Nefi is dismayed to discover a cunning thief has been stealing from her inheritance. And with her legacy at stake, the hidden enemy’s scheme to swipe her cash could turn deadly.

Can Nefi restore her parent’s wealth before her investigation turns fatal?

East of Evil is the fourth book in the page-turning Compass Crimes suspense series. If you like strong heroines, greed-driven motives, and jaw-dropping twists, then you’ll love Joni M Fisher’s hunt for the truth.

Buy East of Evil to see the stunning conclusion of the Compass Crimes series!

This is the fourth and final book in the Compass Crimes series.

Order today.

The 2023 Reader’s Favorite Book Award gave East of Evil the Bronze Award in the Christian Thriller category!

The 2023 Reader's Favorite Book Award

Amazon bestseller East of Evil

East of Evil earned the Amazon Best Seller banner the first week of publication. Thank you, readers! You did this.

Recommended by the US Review 5-stars

“The back of her neck tingled. The sensation heightened her senses, akin to hearing a distant scream.” Nefi’s vision of how she wants her future to be is crystal-clear. She has a plan detailing each step needed to actualize her dreams. Getting accepted into the FBI’s summer internship program is crucial to this path. Her fiancé, Vincent, is already an agent working on international cases. However, life seems to take a strange turn just when it is settling into a predictable groove.

Out of nowhere, Nefi receives a significant inheritance from her parents, who died years ago. It has never occurred to her that they left her anything since they have been gone for so long. This is only the beginning of the twists in her new life story. The world is swirling as her best friend is M.I.A., her grandma is acting suspiciously with money that is intended for her, and someone has twice attempted to murder her.

Fisher uses her exemplary writing skills to weave colorful layers within an intriguing storyline. Vivid descriptions of the scenery bring the settings to life. Her attention to detail pulls the reader into the plot as it winds through the timeline. The characters are rich and dynamic, and their development through the narrative elicits visceral reactions from the reader.

In this fourth and final book in her acclaimed Compass Crimes series, Fisher has created yet another compelling thriller. A former journalist, her passion for forensics is now applied to writing suspenseful stories. Her excellence in storytelling has won several awards and a growing fan base. Audiences who enjoy thrillers, crime stories, or mysteries will devour this book. It is the perfect balance of mystery, action, and endearing characters. There is no doubt that once new readers finish the last page, they will reach for the other three books in this series.

Gretchen Hansen

US Review

Joni M. Fisher has crafted a masterful work of mystery, suspense, and fantastic sleuthing in this gripping conclusion to her stellar series. I enjoyed Nefi as a protagonist, and I found it easy to pick up her story and follow the thread of her triumphs, struggles, and past grief without reading everything else in the previous books. The plot itself is a great standalone mystery, and this is intensified all the more by Nefi’s emotional journey and her true passion for justice. I adored the build-up of suspense as the mystery pieces came together, but it never felt spoon-fed, and there were still plenty of surprises along the way. Overall, East of Evil is a novel that will satisfy fans of the existing series immensely, and I’d highly recommend the series in general to crime and mystery fans seeking an accomplished new author to enjoy.

K. C. Finn

Readers' Favorite

The beginning of the story sucked me right in. I was eager to see what happened next, and by the end, I wondered how things would resolve. I did not see the ending coming.


Cindy's Book Corner


2022 Royal Palm Literary Awards, Silver Award in the Unpublished Thriller or Suspense category

2022 Royal Palm Literary Awards, Silver Award in the Unpublished Thriller or Suspense category

Pin It on Pinterest